Skip to main content


  1. Home

News & Publications


Region 10-Atlanta Announces Results of Bessemer Amazon Ballot Count

Office of Public Affairs

Birmingham, AL—Region 10 of the National Labor Relations Board completed a ballot count on March 31, 2022 in a union election involving employees at an Amazon warehouse in Bessemer, Alabama choosing whether or not to be represented by the Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union (RWDSU).

Today’s count comes after the Region 10 Regional Director ordered a new election in the April 2021 Bessemer, Alabama Amazon/RWDSU election, sustaining the union’s objections to the mailbox that was installed as well as objectionable polling through “vote no” paraphernalia.

The ballot count was conducted by NLRB Region 10 employees at the Birmingham Resident office. The resultant Tally of Ballots shows the following results: 

Approximate number of eligible voters


Number of void ballots   


Number of votes cast for the Petitioner, RWDSU


Number of votes cast against participating labor organization 


Number of valid votes counted


Number of challenged ballots 


Number of valid votes counted plus challenged ballots


The challenged ballots are determinative. A majority of the valid votes counted has not been cast for the Petitioner, the RWDSU. The results of this count will not be certified until the Region processes the challenges and any objections the parties may file. Any objections to the election are due within five business days after the preparation of the tally, which is Thursday, April 7, 2022. 

Established in 1935, the National Labor Relations Board is an independent federal agency that protects employees, employers, and unions from unfair labor practices and protects the right of private sector employees to join together, with or without a union, to improve wages, benefits and working conditions. The NLRB conducts hundreds of workplace elections and investigates thousands of unfair labor practice charges each year. Region 10 serves areas in Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia from its Regional Office in Atlanta, its Subregional Office in Winston-Salem, and Resident Offices in Birmingham and Nashville.