Skip to content

You are here

National Labor Relations Board Members Select Chief Counsels

Each of the newly confirmed members of the National Labor Relations Board has selected a Chief Counsel.  They are as follows: 

NLRB Chairman Mark Gaston Pearce has selected Ellen Dichner to serve as his Chief Counsel.  Ms. Dichner has been a partner with the law firm Gladstein, Reif & Meginniss, LLP in New York City since 1990, and she was an associate in the firm from 1986 to 1989.  Prior to joining the firm, she served as an assistant attorney general in the New York State Department of Law’s Labor Bureau from 1985 to 1986.  She received a B.A. from Oberlin College and a J.D. from Northeastern University School of Law, and she worked as a field attorney in Region 2 of the NLRB from 1982 to 1985.  

Board Member Kent Y. Hirozawa has selected Peter D. Winkler to serve as his Chief Counsel.  Mr. Winkler has worked at the NLRB since 1977 and served as Chief Counsel to former Members Craig Becker, Dennis Walsh, Ronald Meisburg, R. Alexander Acosta, and most recently, Richard Griffin.  He also was managing supervisor in the Appellate Court Branch, Division of Enforcement.  Mr. Winkler received his B.A. from Amherst College in 1973, his M.A. from the University of Chicago in 1974, and his J.D. from the University of Michigan Law School in 1977.  Mr. Winkler’s father was also a labor lawyer, working as a NLRB attorney from 1938 through 1979. 

Board Member Harry I. Johnson, III has selected James R. Murphy to serve as his Chief Counsel.   Mr. Murphy most recently served as Chief Counsel to Member Brian Hayes and before that to Member Peter Schaumber.  He began his career at the Board as a student law clerk in 1974, and has been was a staff counsel or supervisor on the staffs of dozens of Board members.  A native of Severna Park, MD,  Mr. Murphy earned his A.B. degree from Princeton University in 1972 and a J.D. from the American University Washington College of Law in 1976.

Board Member Philip A. Miscimarra has selected Peter J. Carlton to be his Chief Counsel.   Mr. Carlton came to the Board from the Washington, D.C., office of Jones Day in 2001.  Most recently, he served as Chief Counsel in the office of Member Terry Flynn, and prior to that he was Chief Counsel to Member Peter Kirsanow and Senior Counsel to Member Brian Hayes.  Mr. Carlton also has been on the staffs of several other Board Members.   A native of Dearborn, Michigan,  Mr. Carlton graduated with high distinction from the University of Michigan in 1975 with a B.A. degree in English literature.  He earned a Ph.D. in English from the University of Virginia in 1986, and for several years was an assistant professor at St. John’s University in Minnesota. Mr. Carlton received his J.D. from the University of Minnesota in 1996, and served as judicial clerk to the Hon. George G. Fagg of the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. 

Board Member Nancy J. Schiffer has selected John F. Colwell to serve as her Chief Counsel.  Mr. Colwell has been with the NLRB since 2001, most recently serving as Chief Counsel to Member Sharon Block and before that as Chief Counsel to former Chairman Wilma B. Liebman from 2001 to 2011. Before coming to the Board, he held positions in the Office of the Solicitor in the U.S. Department of Labor, as well as having served as an advisor to the Assistant Secretary of Labor for Mine Safety and Health.  Mr. Colwell began his legal career with the Washington, D.C. labor and employment law firm of Yablonski, Both & Edelman.  He received his B.A. from the University of Texas at Austin in 1981 and his J.D. from Yale Law School in 1985, and he is a graduate of Permian High School in Odessa, Texas.


Connect with Us